Two members of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC)

The organization, whose team of experts includes Prof. Piotr Tryjanowski and Prof. Zbigniew Kundzewicz, received the Nobel Peace Prize in 2007 for their efforts to increase and spread knowledge about man-made climate change.

The IPCC is an organisation established in 1988 by the World Meteorological Organisation (WMO) and the United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP), which assesses the risks related to human impact on climate change. The IPCC is chaired by Rajendra Kumar Pachauri. In 2007, the Nobel Peace Prize was shared, in two equal parts, between the IPCC and Al Gore, for their efforts to build up and disseminate knowledge about man-made climate change, and to lay the foundations for measures that are needed to counteract such change. Two Poles were honoured together with the IPCC – Professor Piotr Tryjanowski and Professor Zbigniew Kundzewicz, co-authors of the IPCC Fourth Assessment Report published in 2007.

Piotr Tryjanowski – zoology Professor, ornithologist, Director of the Institute of Zoology at the University of Life Sciences in Poznań; he dedicates his research to ecology, behaviourism and evolution. He contributed to the first chapter of the IPCC report – on the impact of climate change on nature: living organisms, glaciers and arable land.

Zbigniew Kundzewicz – climatology Professor, hydrologist, member of the Polish Academy of Sciences. He contributed to the third chapter of the IPCC report on fresh water reserves. His scientific interests include hydrological extremes, systemic hydrology and secondary reserves for sustainable development.