Adam Glapiński – Candidate for President of National Bank of Poland

The economist Adam Glapiński is the leading candidate to become the new President of the National Bank of Poland.

According to standard procedure, the candidate for this position is announced by the President and confirmed by the Sejm, the lower-house of parliament. Should this happen, Adam Glapiński will replace Marek Belka, whose term as President of the NBP ends in June.

ag.jpg Adam Glapiński graduated from the Central School of Planning and Statistics (currently the Warsaw School of Economics) in 1972 and has been a lecturer at the institution since 1974. He received a doctorate and a habilitation in economic sciences in 2004 and became Professor of Economics in 2013. Glapiński was an active member of the Solidarity movement in the 1980s. In 1990 he co-founded the Centre Agreement, a Polish political party. From the early 1990s onwards, Glapiński held several public office functions, including Minister of Construction and Spatial Planning in the government of Jan Krzysztof Bielecki and Minister of Foreign Economic Relations in Jan Olszewski’s government. He was a Member of the Sejm of the Republic of Poland of the First Term and a Senator of the Fourth Term of the Senate of the Republic of Poland.

Adam Glapiński was on the board of directors of the Export Development Bank, Centralwings as well as KGHM Polska Miedź. In 2007-2008 he was the Chairman of the Board of Directors and General Director of Polkomtel. He served as economic advisor the President Lech Kaczynski and in 2010 was nominated by the President to be part of the Monetary Policy Council, a body of the National Bank of Poland. His six-year term on the Council ended in February 2016. On 1 March, President Andrzej Duda appointed Adam Glapiński as a board member of the National Bank of Poland.

Glapiński was born on 9 April 1950 in Warsaw. Affiliated professionally with the Warsaw School of Economics he has also lectured at the Prof. Edward Lipinski School of Economics, Law and Medical Sciences in Kielce as well as the Polish Academy of Sciences, the Inter-University Centre of Postgraduate Studies in Dubrovnik and the University of Kansas.

In 1993-2001 he was the director of the Institute of Economic and Political Freedom. He is a member of the chapter of the “Teraz Polska” award, the International Joseph A. Schumpeter Society and the European Society for the History of Economic Thought.

Source: IAR